Three Favorite Books

I read mostly for my own entertainment mixed with club selections, though I have found books to bridge new friendships as you talk about common reads. These days–due to a two hour commute time daily–I “read” a lot of audio books. I have found the best places to pick up audio books to be a local library or audible.com.

What I select to read is usually due to hearsay and buzz from others who enjoy the books I have enjoyed in the past. If I find an author I really like, I will read most, if not all, they have written. The only two books I started but set down to intentionally never pick up again were Lonesome Dove and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. To both of these I applied the “One-Third Rule” (give the author time to set characters, mood, develop plot, etc), but neither grabbed me; in some ways it was a relief to get to set them aside.

This month, I want to introduce myself to you by recommending three books I have come back to read again and again over the years. Each from different genres … I hope one registers with the reader (or audio listener as each has an audio version) in each of you or calls you back to revisit an old friend.

Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man by Fanny Flagg

Daisy-Fay-207x300Fiction Dramedy: (Traditional storyline with many funny moments) I first read this in 1981 upon the recommendation of a good friend and her mom while it was published under the title Coming Attractions. It is told through the eye of a young girl, then a teen, in the form of a journal. Each reading brings LOL moments. I find it refreshing that the moments which catch my tickle box are rarely the same while the characters endear themselves to me over and over again.

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

redeeming love

Inspirational Romance/Christian Fiction:About the time I discovered there was inspirational fiction I enjoyed, my friends, who had been long time readers of the genre, said this book was a ‘must read’. It took me a long time to get my hands on a copy, but once I read it, it was immediately one of my top five books ever. It is a retelling of the book of Hosea, set in California during the Gold Rush. This is a book I keep extra copies of because I never know who or when I will be prompted to give it away. Even Bob has read this; he really is that good that he would want to share in what I have loved-even if it is historical romance!

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

to-kill-a-mockingbird-183x300

Classic: Who knew I would name a son Atticus when I read this book for extra credit my sophomore year in high school? Though I immediately knew what my favorite book would be if ever asked that question in a Miss America interview. (Come on … many 16 year-old girls think this way!! Right?) I have read it again as an adult several times, and each time with new life experiences that draw me to love it more. Lee called this book, her only published work, a love story and I agree.

*Originally published on Destiny in Bloom*

